Header Image

Key Stages

In Breckon Hill School children are taught in three Key Stages.

Foundation: Key Stage 1 Key Stage 2
from 3 – 5 years from 5 – 7 years from 7 – 11 years

  • communication and language;
  • physical development; and
  • personal, social and emotional development.

The four Specific areas are: –

  • literacy;
  • mathematics;
  • understanding the world; and
  • expressive arts and design.

 The KS 1 and 2 children follow the National Curriculum areas which are:

Core Subjects Foundation Subjects
English Art and Design Technology
Mathematics History
Science Geography
Information Technology Physical Education
Religious Education Music
PSHE and Citizenship French (from Y3)
Parent View Icon